Chocolate Chip Zucchini Cupcakes- Kabaklı Çokolatılı Kek

This is not necessarily  a Turkish recipe, but more of a remedy for a lot of leftover zucchini used in a traditional dish. Whenever I made stuffed zucchini, I usually tossed out the inner scrapings. But once I saw how much I was tossing out, I felt pretty horrible about it and looked for a solution, preferably one that I wouldn’t be the only one eating! Seeing as the Stuffed Zucchini I made was usually only favored by my son for the inner stuffing and not the zucchini at all, I decided to disguise it in one of my kids’ favorite treats: cupcakes.

This recipe calls for grated zucchini, but I had to puree it so that my children would be none the wiser. It took some time to get the right combination, so that the center would not come out gelled, and to keep the tops fluffy and cake-like.

1 1/2 c. flour

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. baking powder

3/4 c. plus 2 tbsp. sugar

2 tbsp. cocoa

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 c. vegetable oil

1 egg

1 cup grated zucchini (or 1 cup pureed)

6 oz. chocolate chips

1/2 tsp. vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Whisk the flour, cocoa, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat the sugar, oil, egg and vanilla with an electric mixer until creamy.

At a low speed, combine the flour/cocoa mix with the egg/sugar mix slowly, until just mixed. Pour in the zucchini and mix and then drop in the chocolate chips.

Divide into muffin cups and bake about 20 minutes until the tops spring back when you press them.

Cool for 5 minutes. 

My kids liked these so much that they had to take a bite out of each one while they were cooling!

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Zucchini Cupcakes- Kabaklı Çokolatılı Kek

  1. Pingback: Kabak Dolması- Stuffed Zucchini | Yabancı Gelin

Leave a Reply

